Important Reminders for License Renewals for months ahead
Public Accounting Firms
The 2016-2018 Public Accounting Firm License Renewal period is now closed. If you did not renew your firm license, which expired on June 30, 2016, it is now in a Lapsed status and you must complete an Application for Reinstatement of Public Accounting Firm (see Forms Download link in the list to the left) to return the license to an Active status. Please note, without a current license it is unlawful to practice public accountancy in this state and doing so will result in board sanctions and fines.
Individual CPA Licenses
Individual CPA licenses will expire on December 31, 2017. The 2017 Individual CPA license renewal window will open on or around October 1, 2017 and it is an online renewal process.
Remember to complete your required CPE hours for the 2016-2017 reporting period! Statement of Policy No. 4 outlines stricter penalties for the current reporting period.(See Policies)
Important Notice on Fees for Reinstatement of Individual CPA Licenses and Firm Licenses
Pursuant to Board Rules, effective April 13, 2016, the reinstatement fees for Georgia licensees will be as follows:
- Individual CPA License: $300.00
- Firm License: $1,150.00
Effective April 13, 2016, ALL reinstatement applications RECEIVED in the Board Office shall be accompanied by the appropriate reinstatement fee as stated above. Updated reinstatement applications will be posted in the Forms Download link just prior to the effective date.
Effective July 1, 2014, the Georgia State Board of Accountancy was transitioned from operating as a licensing board within the Secretary of State’s Professional Licensing Board (PLB) Division to operating as an attached agency of the State Accounting Office.
You can reach the GSBA at its new location and via new contact information listed below. All inquiries are important to us and will be addressed as soon as possible.